The Four Beauties

The Four Beauties

First published in 1968, The Four Beauties is Bates's last collection of novellas offering a mixture of comedy, adventure, a semi-autobiographical piece and an exploration of a dark love triangle.

'The Simple Life' is set at a country cottage offering the joys of a humble existence, and focuses on a bitter alcoholic wife who finds temporary pleasure in a seventeen-year-old boy.

A reminiscence of newspaper reporter, reflecting Bates's own experiences at the Northamptonshire… (more)

Available Offer  

Book Details  

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing (October 06, 2016)

Collection: Bloomsbury Reader

Page count: 194 pages

Language: English

Look for similar items