Simon & Schuster / Biography & autobiography / Military

Best Selling

Language

All

English (28)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Publisher

Delete Simon & Schuster

 

Collection

Simon & Schuster (28)

 

Category

Delete Military

 

Audience

Adult (28)

 

Total Loans

All (28)

20 - 40 (28)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 28 of 28 Sorted by : 

Foreign Correspondent

by H.D.S. Greenway Simon & Schuster (July 16, 2014)

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


I Heard My Country Calling

by James Webb Simon & Schuster (May 20, 2014)

In this brilliantly received memoir, former senator James Webb has outdone himself. It is rare in America that one individual is recognized for the highest levels of combat valor, as a respected member of the...


Alexander the Great

by Philip Freeman Simon & Schuster (January 04, 2011)

In the first authoritative biography of Alexander the Great written for a general audience in a generation, classicist and historian Philip Freeman tells the remarkable life of the great conqueror.

The celebrated...


Dancing with the Devil

by Rodney Barker Simon & Schuster (January 21, 2014)

In this riveting account of one of the most notorious spy cases in Cold War history, Rodney Barker, the author of The Broken Circle and The Hiroshima Maidens, uncovers startling new facts about the head-line-making...


Hanns and Rudolf

by Thomas Harding Simon & Schuster (September 03, 2013)

WINNER OF THE WINGATE PRIZE

The “compelling,” untold story of the man who brought one of Nazi Germany’s most notorious war criminals to justice—“fascinates and shocks” (The Washington Post).

May 1945....


Bolivar: American Liberator

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography 2013

by Marie Arana Simon & Schuster (April 09, 2013)

It is astonishing that Simón Bolívar, the great Liberator of South America, is not better known in the United States. He freed six countries from Spanish rule, traveled more than 75,000 miles on horseback...


The Insurgents: David Petraeus and the Plot to Change the American Way of War

by Fred Kaplan Simon & Schuster (January 02, 2013)

A finalist for the Pulitzer Prize

The Insurgents is the inside story of the small group of soldier-scholars, led by General David Petraeus, who plotted to revolutionize one of the largest, oldest, and most hidebound...


War Journal: My Five Years in Iraq

by Richard Engel Simon & Schuster (November 13, 2012)

In the most dramatic and intimate account of battle reporting since Michael Herr's classic Dispatches, NBC News's award-winning Middle East Bureau Chief, Richard Engel, offers an unvarnished and often emotional...


SOG

by John L. Plaster Simon & Schuster (January 01, 2019)

John Plaster’s riveting account of his covert activities as a member of a special operations team during the Vietnam War is “a true insider’s account, this eye-opening report will leave readers feeling...


The Fighters

by C. J. Chivers Simon & Schuster (August 14, 2018)

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * “A CLASSIC OF WAR REPORTING…THERE IS NO DOWNTIME IN THIS RELENTLESS BOOK.”—The New York Times * “REMARKABLE…A MEMORIAL IN PAGES.”—The Washington Post * “GRIPPING...


Hell in the Pacific

by Jim McEnery & Bill Sloan Simon & Schuster (June 05, 2012)

In what may be the last memoir to be published by a living veteran of the pivotal invasion of Guadalcanal, which occurred almost seventy years ago, Marine Jim McEnery has teamed up with author Bill Sloan to...


8 Seconds of Courage: A Soldier's Story from Immigrant to the Medal of Honor

by Flo Groberg & Tom Sileo Simon & Schuster (November 07, 2017)

In an inspiring story of valor and the making of a hero, Florent Groberg—who grew up in France and emigrated to the US—becomes the first immigrant in forty years to receive the Congressional Medal of Honor...


Everyday Heroes: Inspirational Stories from Men and Women in the Canadian Armed Forces

by Jody Mitic Simon & Schuster (October 24, 2017)

In this moving collection of first-person accounts, the men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces take us inside life in the military and share their personal stories of courage, perseverance, and sacrifice....


Hannibal

by Patrick N Hunt Simon & Schuster (July 11, 2017)

Hannibal is “an exciting biography of one of history’s greatest commanders…a thrilling page-turner” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) about the brilliant general who successfully crossed the Alps with...


Cavalryman of the Lost Cause

by Jeffry D. Wert Simon & Schuster (September 23, 2008)

Cavalryman of the Lost Cause is the first major biography in decades of the famous Confederate general J. E. B. Stuart. Based on research in manuscript collections, personal memoirs and reminiscences, and regimental...


Master of War

by Benson Bobrick Simon & Schuster (February 10, 2009)

In this revelatory, dynamic biography, one of our finest historians, Benson Bobrick, profiles George H. Thomas, arguing that he was the greatest and most successful general of the Civil War. Because Thomas didn't...


1776

by David McCullough Simon & Schuster (May 24, 2005)

America’s beloved and distinguished historian presents, in a book of breathtaking excitement, drama, and narrative force, the stirring story of the year of our nation’s birth, 1776, interweaving, on both...


George Washington's First War

by David A. Clary Simon & Schuster (January 11, 2011)

Renowned historian David A. Clary studies George Washington’s early military career as a young colonel during the French and Indian War, and how those campaigns influenced his leadership and strategy as a...


The Quartermaster: Montgomery C. Meigs, Lincoln's General, Master Builder of the Union Army

by Robert O'Harrow Simon & Schuster (October 25, 2016)

“The lively story of the Civil War’s most unlikely—and most uncelebrated—genius” (The Wall Street Journal)—General Montgomery C. Meigs, who built the Union Army and was judged by Abraham Lincoln,...


Heart of a Soldier

by James B. Stewart Simon & Schuster (November 24, 2009)

From Pulitzer Prize winner James B. Stewart comes the extraordinary story of American hero Rick Rescorla, Morgan Stanley security director and a veteran of Vietnam and the British colonial wars in Rhodesia,...


How Everything Became War and the Military Became Everything

by Rosa Brooks Simon & Schuster (August 09, 2016)

“A dynamic work of reportage” (The New York Times) written “with clarity and...wit” (The New York Times Book Review) about what happens when the ancient boundary between war and peace is erased.

Once,...


Grant

by Jean Edward Smith Simon & Schuster (June 29, 2001)

Ulysses S. Grant was the first four-star general in the history of the United States Army and the only president between Andrew Jackson and Woodrow Wilson to serve eight consecutive years in the White House....


Disciples

by Douglas Waller Simon & Schuster (October 06, 2015)

“A fantastic book, one of the very finest accounts of wartime spookery” (The Wall Street Journal)—a spellbinding adventure story of four secret OSS agents who would all later lead the CIA and their daring...


Payback

by Joe Klein Simon & Schuster (October 27, 2015)

From the author of Primary Colors, “a remarkably sensitive story of a generation” (The New York Times Book Review): The critically acclaimed true story of five Marines who fought together in a bloody battle...


Charlie Mike

by Joe Klein Simon & Schuster (October 20, 2015)

This true story of two decorated combat veterans who find a new way to save their comrades and heal their country is “a great look at two of the best veteran organizations going and the incredible humans who...


Sailor and Fiddler

by Herman Wouk Simon & Schuster (January 05, 2016)

“A sparkling memoir of a well-lived life of literature, fame, and love” (Booklist) by one of America’s most beloved authors, as he looks back over his 100 years.

In this remarkable memoir “full of adventure,...


Unflinching

by Jody Mitic Simon & Schuster (September 08, 2015)

Elite sniper Jody Mitic loved being a soldier. His raw, candid, and engrossing memoir follows his personal journey into the Canadian military, through sniper training, and firefights in Afghanistan, culminating...


88 Days to Kandahar

by Robert L. Grenier Simon & Schuster (January 27, 2015)

The “first” Afghan War, a CIA war in response to 9/11, was directed by the CIA Station Chief in Islamabad. It put Hamid Karzai in power in 88 days. “If you want an insider’s account of the first American-Afghan...