Mystery & Detective / Historical

Best Selling

Language

All

English (22)

French (6)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (2)

Current year (22)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (11)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Audience

Adult (22)

 

Publisher

 

Total Loans

All (14)

20 - 40 (9)

40 - 100 (5)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 22 of 22 Sorted by : 

The Peaceful Valley Crime Wave

by Bill Pronzini Tom Doherty Associates (August 13, 2019)

Bill Pronzini’s riveting western mystery, The Peaceful Valley Crime Wave, takes on the modern world with old-fashioned violence--and his Peaceful Valley is anything but…

Nothing much happens in Peaceful...


The Huntress

by Kate Quinn HarperCollins (April 18, 2019)

‘If you enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz, read The Huntress by Kate Quinn’ The Washington Post ‘Fascinating, brilliantly written, enthralling – just phenomenal’ Jill Mansell

*From the bestselling...


A Capitol Death

Flavia Albia Mysteries #7

by Lindsey Davis St. Martin's Publishing Group (July 30, 2019)

In Rome, ruled by the erratic Emperor Domitian, Flavia Albia is dragged into the worst sort of investigation—a politically charged murder—in Lindsey Davis’s next historical mystery, A Capitol Death.

A man...


The King’s Evil (James Marwood & Cat Lovett, Book 3)

by Andrew Taylor HarperCollins (April 04, 2019)

From the No.1 bestselling author of The Ashes of London and The Fire Court comes the next book in the phenomenally successful series following James Marwood. A royal scandal that could change the face of England...


His Convenient Highland Wedding (Mills & Boon Historical) (The Lochmore Legacy, Book 1)

by Janice Preston Mills & Boon Historical (March 21, 2019)

Bought by her husband…

Bound by secrets of their past!

The start of The Lochmore Legacy – A Scottish castle through the ages! Earl’s daughter Flora McCrieff brought shame on her family once, now she...


The Right Sort of Man

The Right Sort Marriage Bureau #1

by Allison Montclair St. Martin's Press (June 04, 2019)

"A delightful immersion in the period and personalities, with that touch of depth that transforms a good series to a great one." —Laurie R. King

First comes love, then comes murder.

In a London slowly recovering...


The Book of Extraordinary Historical Mystery Stories

by Maxim Jakubowski Mango (April 15, 2019)

Your New Favorite Book of Mysteries

If you are a fan of The Best American Mystery Stories series, you’ll love The Book of Extraordinary Historical Mystery Stories.

Some of the Best New Mysteries: The Book...


Rocco and the Price of Lies

by Adrian Magson The Dome Press (April 25, 2019)

Praise for Adrian Magson:

"… a classic crime star in the making." Daily Mail

"A gripping police procedural." Eurocrime

The anticipated sixth instalment of the bestselling Inspector Lucas Rocco series…

Murder...


In Two Minds

by Alis Hawkins The Dome Press (May 02, 2019)

Praise for Alis Hawkins:

'Beautifully written, cunningly plotted, with one of the most interesting central characters.' E.S. Thomson

'The most interesting crime creation of the year.' Phil Rickman

Harry Probert-Lloyd,...


The Policewomen's Bureau

by Edward Conlon Arcade (May 28, 2019)

A page-turning novel about the inner workings of the NYPD, based on the true story of a young officer's decades-long fight for respect in the male-dominated world.

The Bronx, 1958.

 

The Policewomen's Bureau...


Fatal Inheritance

by Rachel Rhys Washington Square Press (June 11, 2019)

Get swept away to the enchanting South of France with this “exquisite and shimmering” (Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone) suspenseful historical novel, where perilous secrets...


A Stranger Here Below

Gideon Stoltz #1

by Charles Fergus Skyhorse (March 05, 2019)

For fans of C.J. Box's Joe Pickett series, a fabulous historical mystery series set in early America.

“Deeply imagined and intricately plotted, A Stranger Here Below marries richly textured historical fiction...


The Widows

Kinship #1

by Jess Montgomery St. Martin's Publishing Group (January 08, 2019)

The Widows kept me on the edge of my seat. Montgomery is a masterful storyteller.” —Lee Martin, author of Pulitzer Prize-Finalist The Bright Forever

Kinship, Ohio, 1924: When Lily Ross learns that her...


The Flimflam Affair

Carpenter and Quincannon #7

by Bill Pronzini Tom Doherty Associates (January 15, 2019)

The Flimflam Affair is the latest charming historical mystery in Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Bill Pronzini's detective series.

Carpenter and Quincannon, Professional Detective Services is a fixture...


The Lost History of Dreams

by Kris Waldherr Atria Books (April 09, 2019)

A post-mortem photographer unearths dark secrets from the past that may hold the key to his future in this “sensual, twisting gothic tale…in the tradition of A.S. Byatt’s Possession, Diane Setterfield’s...


The Dower House Mystery

by Alanna Knight Allison & Busby (April 18, 2019)

York, 1907. Newly retired Inspector Faro is delighted at the prospect of staying in the Dower House, situated on a Roman villa once home to Emperor Severus. But he arrives to find his wife Imogen distraught...


A Veil Removed

by Michelle Cox She Writes Press (April 30, 2019)

A Girl Like You (Book 1 of the series) has received 12 indie book awards in multiple genres—historical fiction, mystery, and romance—including the IPPY Gold medal for mystery. It also received starred...


Murder at the British Museum

by Jim Eldridge Allison & Busby (January 24, 2019)

1894. A well-respected academic is found dead in a gentlemen’s convenience cubicle at the British Museum, the stall locked from the inside. Professor Lance Pickering had been due to give a talk promoting the...


The Phoenix of Florence

by Philip Kazan Allison & Busby (February 21, 2019)

Fifteenth century Italy, deep in the Tuscan countryside, a long-held feud between two aristocratic families breaks the two-decade peace. A family is bloodily ripped apart, a girl wanders the forest alone, and...


The Mathematical Bridge

by Jim Kelly Allison & Busby (February 21, 2019)

Cambridge, 1940. It is the first winter of the war, and snow is falling. When an evacuee drowns in the river, his body swept away, Detective Inspector Eden Brooke sets out to investigate what seems to be a deliberate...


Westside

by W.M. Akers Harper Voyager (May 07, 2019)

The Alienist meets The City & The City in this brilliant debut that mixes fantasy and mystery. Gilda Carr’s ‘tiny mysteries’ pack a giant punch.”

--David Morrell, New York Times bestselling author...


The American Agent

Maisie Dobbs #15

by Jacqueline Winspear Harper (March 26, 2019)

Beloved heroine Maisie Dobbs, “one of the great fictional heroines” (Parade), investigates the mysterious murder of an American war correspondent in London during the Blitz in a page-turning tale of love...