History / Other

Best Selling

Language

All

English (22)

French (14)

German (0)

Spanish (27)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (2)

Last 30 days (4)

Current year (22)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (2)

Current year (14)

 

Category

Delete Other

 

In category

Social History (9)

Revolutionary (1)

 

Audience

Adult (22)

 

Publisher

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (22)

AUDIOBOOK (11)

 

Total Loans

All (5)

20 - 40 (1)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (4)

More options

Results : 1 - 22 of 22 Sorted by : 

No Man's Land

by Wendy Moore Basic Books (April 27, 2020)

The "absorbing and powerful" (Wall Street Journal) story of two pioneering suffragette doctors who shattered social expectations and transformed modern medicine during World War I

A month after war broke out...


Rivers of Power

by Laurence C. Smith Little, Brown and Company (April 20, 2020)

An "eye-opening, sometimes alarming, and ultimately inspiring" natural history of rivers and their complex and ancient relationship with human civilization (Elizabeth Kolbert, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of...


Jailed for Freedom

by Doris Stevens & Angela P. Dodson Black Dog & Leventhal (March 02, 2020)

The 100th-anniversary special edition of Jailed for Freedom, the essential history and first-person account of the courageous and militant suffragists who fought for their right to vote.

First published in...


Transcendence

by Gaia Vince Basic Books (January 20, 2020)

In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species

"A wondrous, visionary...


A Dark History of Tea

by Seren Charrington Hollins Pen and Sword History (July 08, 2020)

A Dark History of Tea looks at our long relationship with this most revered of hot beverages. Renowned food historian Seren Charrington-Hollins digs into the history of one of the world’s oldest beverages,...


Ancient High Tech

by Frank Joseph Bear & Company (August 04, 2020)

A detailed look into ancient advanced technology, science, and medicine--some of which has yet to be reproduced today

• Explores countless examples of ancient high tech, including robotics, artificial intelligence,...


Heroes and Villains of the British Empire

by Stephen Basdeo Pen and Sword History (July 30, 2020)

From the sixteenth until the twentieth century, British power and influence gradually expanded to cover one quarter of the world’s surface. The common saying was that “the sun never sets on the British Empire”....


The White Cockade

by Stuart McHardy Birlinn (June 30, 2020)

An essential read for fans of Outlander.

During the first half of the eighteenth century, Bonnie Prince Charlie and his diehard supporters – the Jacobites – almost changed the course of British history. Their...


The Search for Life on Mars

by Elizabeth Howell & Nicholas Booth Arcade (June 23, 2020)

Published to coincide with the launch of NASA’s Perseverance rover mission this summer, the definitive account of our quest to find life on the Red Planet.

From The War of the Worlds to The Martian and to...


Captain James Cook and the Search for Antarctica

by James C Hamilton Pen and Sword History (May 30, 2020)

Two hundred and fifty years ago Captain James Cook, during his extraordinary voyages of navigation and maritime exploration, searched for Antarctica – the Unknown Southern Continent. During parts of his three...


The Home Front Pocket Manual 1939-1945

by Lucinda Gosling Casemate (April 09, 2020)

Compiled from the Mary Evans archives, this manual brings together articles from fashionable contemporary magazines including Britannia & Eve, the Illustrated Sporting and Dramatic News, and Tatler, on all aspects...


Augustus and the destruction of history

by Ingo Gildenhard, Ulrich Gotter, Wolfgang Havener & Louise Hodgson Cambridge Philological Society (May 15, 2020)

Augustus and the Destruction of History explores the intense controversies over the meaning and profile of the past that accompanied the violent transformation of the Roman Republic into the Augustan principate....


Chanel's Riviera

by Anne De Courcy St. Martin's Press (February 10, 2020)

In this captivating narrative, Chanel's Riviera explores the fascinating world of the Cote d'Azur during a period that saw the deepest extremes of luxury and terror in the twentieth century.

The Cote d'Azur in...


The Celestial Hunter

by Roberto Calasso & Richard Dixon Farrar, Straus and Giroux (April 27, 2020)

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice

"[Calasso's] flow of associations leaves you feeling not out of your depth, but smarter and better read." --The New York Times Book Review

The eighth part of Roberto...


Empire

by Paul Strathern Pegasus Books (February 04, 2020)

Eminent historian Paul Strathern opens the story of Empire with the Akkadian civilization, which ruled over a vast expanse of the region of ancient Mesopotamia, then turns to the immense Roman Empire, where...


Seduction

by Clement Knox Pegasus Books (February 04, 2020)

A brilliantly original history that explores the shifting cultural mores of courtship, told through the lives of remarkable women and men throughout history.

If sex has generally been a private matter, seduction...


Honour

by Caroline Goode Oneworld Publications (March 26, 2020)

When Rahmat Sulemani reported his girlfriend Banaz missing, it quickly became clear to DCI Caroline Goode that something was very wrong. In fact, Banaz had contacted her local police station multiple times before,...


The Discovery of Australia

by Warren B. Kimberly & George A. Wood Lmp–History and Civilization Coll (April 03, 2020)

This book deals with the History of the Discovery of Australia.

"The world was old before Australia was wrested by navigators from her primal gloom and obscurity. Throughout the long roll of centuries of ancient...


The Restaurant

by William Sitwell Simon & Schuster Uk (April 09, 2020)

AS READ ON BBC RADIO 4 BOOK OF THE WEEK.

The fascinating story of how we have gone out to eat, from the ancient Romans in Pompeii to the luxurious Michelin-starred restaurants of today.

Tracing its earliest...


Reprehensible

by Mikey Robins Simon & Schuster Australia (August 05, 2020)

Rollicking and informative, Reprehensible: Polite Histories of Bad Behaviour is your guide through some of the most shameful behaviour indulged in by humanity’s most celebrated figures, as told by Mikey Robins,...


The Year 1000

by Valerie Hansen Scribner (April 14, 2020)

From celebrated Yale professor Valerie Hansen, a groundbreaking work of history showing that bold explorations and daring trade missions connected all of the world’s great societies for the first time at the...


Promised Land

by David Stebenne Scribner (July 14, 2020)

A timely work of groundbreaking history explains how the American middle class ballooned at mid-century until it dominated the nation, showing who benefited and what brought the expansion to an end.

In Promised...