Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / People & Places / Middle East

Best Selling

Language

All

English (24)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (1)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Category

Delete Middle East

 

Audience

Advanced reader (2)

 

Publisher

Baby Professor (10)

Atheneum Books for Young Readers (5)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (24)

AUDIOBOOK (0)

 

Total Loans

All (11)

20 - 40 (11)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 24 of 24 Sorted by : 

The Grand Plan to Fix Everything

by Uma Krishnaswami & Abigail Halpin Atheneum Books for Young Readers (May 24, 2011)

Rose petal milk shakes and a world of surprises awaits Dini when her family moves to India in this spirited novel with Bollywood flair.

Eleven-year old Dini loves movies—watching them, reading about them, trying...


Saving Kabul Corner

by N. H. Senzai Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (February 04, 2014)

From Afghanistan to America, family matters most in this “empowering mystery” (Publishers Weekly), a companion to Shooting Kabul, which Kirkus Reviews called a “story with much to offer.”

A rough and...


Santa Claus in Baghdad and Other Stories about Teens in the Arab World

by Elsa Marston Indiana University Press (May 13, 2008)

What is it like to be a young person in the Arab world today? This lively collection of eight short stories about Arab teenagers living in Iraq, Tunisia, Egypt, the West Bank, Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, and a Palestinian...


The Problem with Being Slightly Heroic

by Uma Krishnaswami & Abigail Halpin Atheneum Books for Young Readers (August 13, 2013)

Dini is back from India—with Bollywood star Dolly in tow! But life in the States isn’t all rose petal milk shakes…

Dini and Maddie, very best friends, are back in the same country at the same time! Better...


Purple Heart

by Patricia McCormick Balzer + Bray (September 01, 2009)

When Private Matt Duffy wakes up in an army hospital in Iraq, he's honored with a Purple Heart. But he doesn't feel like a hero.

There's a memory that haunts him: an image of a young Iraqi boy as a bullet hits...


Crescent Star

by Nicholas Maes Dundurn (February 09, 2011)

Avi Greenbaum is Jewish and lives in West Jerusalem. Moussa Shakir is Palestinian and lives in East Jerusalem. Both are 15 years old, live without their fathers and belong to the same soccer club. In the spring...


Other Words for Home

by Jasmine Warga Balzer + Bray (May 28, 2019)

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d...


Escape from Aleppo

by N. H. Senzai Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (January 02, 2018)

“Filled with kindness and hope, but also with the harsh realities of the horrors of war, this heartbreaking book is a necessary reminder of what many people live through every day.” —Booklist (starred...


New Friends, New Places

by Susan Omar The Islamic Foundation (June 10, 2017)

New Friends, New Places is an exciting, adventurous account of a young British Muslim boy, Adam's stay on an Egyptian farm during his summer holidays. Apart from rejoicing in the simplicity and beauty of the...


The Medes, the Persians and the Romans | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

History is a very interesting yet boring topic for most children. The reason is because they'll be reading about names, dates and events from the past. But history needs to be studied because many valuable lessons...


The Seleucid Empire | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

While the Arthurian folk tales are mostly stories of friendships, this one is focused on the strength and spirit of King Arthur especially when he pulled the sword from the stone. Perfect as a bedtime story,...


Sumer and Akkad | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

The Sumer and Akkad are two of the most ancient civilizations known to men. Reading this resource material will bring you back to Mesopotamia over 7,000 years ago. You will learn how the Sumerians established...


The Babylonian Empire | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

The Babylonian Empire was known to be the most powerful state in the ancient world during the 612 BCE. It was a beautiful kingdom with many famous buildings. Because of that, it went down in history as an important...


The Assyrian and Neo-Assyrian Empire | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

How did the people from the Assyrian and Neo-Assyrian Empire live? Now is your chance to peek through the past by opening the pages of this wonderful educational resource. Learn from the lessons of the past...


Old Babylonia | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

Believe it or not but what happened in Old Babylonia centuries ago still holds water today. You see, significant events in history, regardless of the setting, changed the world. They created lessons and from...


Ancient Assyria | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

Fill your kids with some powerful knowledge about the Middle Eastern culture with this book about the Ancient Assyria. Situated in the North-eastern part of Iraq, Assyria’s history is so rich that it deserves...


Hittites, Kassites and Mitanni | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

In this Middle Eastern History Book, we're going to take a look at the three power Empires that ruled centuries ago. Learning about them would help establish a model for living. Lessons will be picked from the...


The Parthians and Sassanids | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

After the fall of the Parthians, the Sassanids came into power. In this Middle Eastern History Book, we will be discussing the transfer of power and the change in society that came along with it. It’s nice...


The Islamic Arabs Conquer the Middle East | Children's Middle Eastern History Books

by Baby Professor Baby Professor (February 15, 2017)

The early Islamic conquests began when in the 7th century and the rise of Prophet Muhammad. It was a century of rapid expansion from the borders of India and China, the Middle East, North Africa, Central Asia...


Extra Credit

by Andrew Clements & Mark Elliott Atheneum Books for Young Readers (March 13, 2012)

It isn’t that Abby Carson can’t do her schoolwork. She just doesn’t like doing it. And in February a warning letter arrives at her home. Abby will have to repeat sixth grade—unless she meets some specific...


Ask Me No Questions

by Marina Budhos Atheneum Books for Young Readers (June 20, 2008)

"You forget. You forget you don't really exist here, that this isn't your home."

Since emigrating from Bangladesh, fourteen-year-old Nadira and her family have been living in New York City on expired visas,...


Shooting Kabul

by N. H. Senzai Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (June 22, 2010)

Fadi never imagined he’d start middle school in Fremont, California, thousands of miles from home in Kabul—and half a world away from his missing six-year-old sister, Mariam.

Adjusting to life in the United...


Freefall

by Anna Levine Greenwillow Books (March 17, 2009)

What would your life be like if military service was compulsory, not voluntary?

Aggie is eighteen and getting ready to do her service for the Israeli Army. She could get a cushy assignment—maybe pushing paper...


Iqbal

by Francesco D'Adamo & Ann Leonori Atheneum Books for Young Readers (May 11, 2010)

When young Iqbal is sold into slavery at a carpet factory, his arrival changes everything for the other overworked and abused chidren there. It is Iqbal who explains to them that despite their master's promises,...