Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Social Situations / Physical & Emotional Abuse

Best Selling

Language

All

English (36)

French (8)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (2)

 

Category

Delete Physical & Emotional Abuse

 

Audience

Young adult (2)

 

Publisher

Simon Pulse (12)

Atheneum Books for Young Readers (5)

 

Total Loans

All (29)

20 - 40 (29)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 36 of 36 Sorted by : 

Beauty of the Broken

by Tawni Waters Simon Pulse (September 30, 2014)

In this lyrical, heartwrenching story about a forbidden first love, a teen seeks the courage to care for another girl despite her small town’s bigotry and her father’s violent threats.

Growing up in conservative...


Touching Snow

by M. Sindy Felin Atheneum Books for Young Readers (March 22, 2011)

M. Sindy Felin’s National Book Award finalist is in paperback for the first time. Karina has plenty to worry about on the last day of seventh grade: finding three Ds and a C on her report card again, getting...


The Unspoken

by Thomas Fahy Simon Pulse (July 07, 2009)

"In five years' time, your greatest fear will consume you. It will rob you of your last breath."

Five years ago six children who lived with their families in Jacob Crawley's Divine Path religious cult escaped...


Finding Katie: The Diary of Anonymous, A Teenager in Foster Care

by Beatrice Sparks HarperCollins (May 18, 2010)

This appealing teen read tells the story of Katie, a teen from an abused home, and her journey through foster care.

Katie is always surrounded by wealth, but feels terribly alone because of the secret horror...


The Liberty Circle

by Phil Campagna Napoleon and Co (May 01, 2000)

Life at home isn't easy for sixteen-year-old Corey. When he sees an ad for a retreat called Camp Liberty, he can't wait to get away. But Corey has no idea of what he's in for, as he and his fellow campers are...


Never Enough

by Denise Jaden Simon Pulse (July 10, 2012)

From the author of Losing Faith, a novel about two sisters and the eating disorder that threatens to destroy their family.

Loann’s always wanted to be popular and pretty like her sister, Claire. So when Claire’s...


Snobs, Dogs and Scobies

by Elizabeth O'Hara Little Island Books (September 01, 2011)

Snob: Ruán’s life is golden. He lives in a beautiful home on a beautiful street and he’s sure he’ll breeze through the exams. Everything is perfect. Dog: Emma lives just a few doors down from Ruán, but...


Easter Ann Peters' Operation Cool

by Jody Lamb Jody Lamb Communications, Inc. (July 01, 2017)

Twelve-year-old Easter Ann Peters has a plan to make seventh grade awesome: Operation Cool. She's determined to erase years of being known as the quiet, straight-A student who can't think of a decent comeback...


Why Is Brian So Fat?

by Gary Solomon & Lynne Adamson Central Recovery Press (May 01, 2012)

Meet Brian. Brian is fat. He's fat because he eats too much. And he eats too much because that's how he keeps from feeling his feelings. He has many feelings about his family, his friends, his school, his dog,...


Dead Children Can't Read: Classrooms of Compassion

by Darleen Claire Wodzenski, Hayden Kara & Dr. Kathy A. Thomas Orchard Human Services, Inc. (May 19, 2017)

Learn the meaning behind "Dead Children Can't Read" as you explore the philosophy of "Classrooms of Compassion" that promote child mental health and development. Darleen Claire Wodzenski, MS ESE, MA CMHC, QPPE,...


Dancing Carl

by Gary Paulsen Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (May 22, 2012)

Dancing Carl, Gary Paulsen's first novel, was a ALA Best Book for Young Adults and a Notable Children's Trade Book for the Language Arts.

In the winter, life in McKinley, Minnesota, revolves around the rinks,...


Black Flowers, White Lies

by Yvonne Ventresca Sky Pony (October 04, 2016)

Her father died before she was born, but Ella Benton knows they have a supernatural connection. Since her mother discourages these beliefs, Ella keeps her cemetery visits secret. But she may not be the only...


Fragile Like Us

by Sara Barnard Simon Pulse (July 18, 2017)

A pitch perfect novel about friendship and what it takes to break the bonds between friends, “for fans of Morgan Matson and Sarah Dessen” (VOYA).

Caddy and Rosie have always been inseparable. But that was...


The You I've Never Known

by Ellen Hopkins Margaret K. McElderry Books (January 24, 2017)

How do you live your life if your past is based on a lie? Find out in this “satisfied and moving story” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) in both verse and prose from #1 New York Times bestselling author,...


Life Before

by Michele Bacon Sky Pony (June 07, 2016)

Seventeen years is a long time to keep secrets, and Xander Fife has gotten very good at it.

Everyone believes Xander has a normal life and a normal family. If he can just get through this summer, he’ll start...


What She Left Behind

by Tracy Bilen Simon Pulse (May 01, 2012)

In this suspenseful thriller, Sara and her mother are going to secretly escape her abusive father—when her mother mysteriously disappears.

Sara and her mom have a plan to finally escape Sara’s abusive father....


A Step from Heaven

by An Na Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books (July 26, 2016)

From master storyteller An Na comes the Printz Award–winning novel about a Korean girl who tells her firsthand account of trying to find her place and identity in America from the day she leaves Korea as a...


Somebody, Please Tell Me Who I Am

by Harry Mazer & Peter Lerangis Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (February 07, 2012)

A soldier returns home from Iraq forever changed in this poignant and pivotal novel from award-winning authors–one a veteran.

Ben lives a charmed life—effortlessly landing the lead in the high school musical,...


Nobel Genes

by Rune Michaels Atheneum Books for Young Readers (August 10, 2010)

It's tough to measure up to your parents' expectations. Imagine how much harder it would be if your mother told you that your biological father—whom you'd never met—was a Nobel prize-winning genius? NOBEL...


Asking For It

by Louise O'Neill Quercus (April 05, 2016)

Emma O'Donovan is eighteen, beautiful, and fearless. It's the beginning of summer in a quiet Irish town and tonight she and her friends have dressed to impress. Everyone is at the party, and all eyes are on...


Fix Me

by Rune Michaels Atheneum Books for Young Readers (December 06, 2011)

Orphaned as a child, terrorized by her abusive brother, and haunted by memories, Leia feels exposed, powerless, and vulnerable. When her tormented mind can stand it no longer, she escapes to the zoo, where she...


Avalanche

by Melinda Braun Simon Pulse (November 29, 2016)

Two groups of teens—those waiting to be saved and those doing the saving—are in a race against time and a battle against Mother Nature after an avalanche traps them in an isolated cabin in this chilling...


How to Disappear

by Ann Redisch Stampler Simon Pulse (June 14, 2016)

This “adrenaline-soaked thriller” (Publishers Weekly) follows the game of cat and mouse between a girl on the run from a murder she witnessed—or committed?—and the boy who’s sent to kill her.

Nicolette...


The Last Execution

by Jesper Wung-Sung & Lindy Falk van Rooyen Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books (March 22, 2016)

Called “brilliantly devastating” in a starred review from Kirkus Reviews, this award-winning, mesmerizing novel, based on the chilling true story of the last execution in Denmark’s history, asks a question...


Sara Lost and Found

by Virginia Castleman Aladdin (February 09, 2016)

Sisters Anna and Sara must rely on each other for strength as they face being separated by the foster care system in this heartwrenching tale of sisterhood, family, and survival.

Sara and Anna Olsen face an uncertain...


The Way I Used to Be

by Amber Smith Margaret K. McElderry Books (March 22, 2016)

A New York Times bestseller.

In the tradition of Speak, this extraordinary debut novel “is a poignant book that realistically looks at the lasting effects of trauma on love, relationships, and life” (School...


Baby-Sitting Is a Dangerous Job

by Willo Davis Roberts Aladdin (April 19, 2016)

A bestselling classic mystery about a baby-sitter who is kidnapped along with the three kids she is watching from three-time Edgar Award–winning author Willo Davis Roberts. “A solid adventure with more than...


Suckerpunch

by David Hernandez HarperTeen (October 06, 2009)

It's the summer before senior year, and Marcus should be hanging out, filling his sketchbook, maybe asking a girl out for once. So why is he in a car with his brother, his brother's girl, and the pistol, headed...


Stranded

by Melinda Braun Simon Pulse (August 25, 2015)

In the tradition of 127 Hours and The Edge, a fascinating and suspenseful novel about a group of teens battling for their lives against the most violent villain in history—Mother Nature.

It’s human instinct...


Shackled

by Tom Leveen Simon Pulse (August 18, 2015)

From author Tom Leveen comes a taut, suspenseful novel about a girl’s abduction that leaves her best friend emotionally paralyzed, until a chance encounter points her toward the truth…and a terrifying new...


Ruthless

by Carolyn Lee Adams Simon Pulse (July 14, 2015)

A spine-tingling debut about the ultimate game of cat-and-mouse in reverse as a teen struggles to retain hope—and her sanity—while on the run from a cunning and determined killer.

Ruth Carver has always competed...


Wild Roses

by Deb Caletti Simon Pulse (August 23, 2011)

Cassie is falling in love with her stepfather Dino’s brilliant young violin student, all while trying to cover up his increasingly erratic behavior, in this story of intense love, family, and secrets from...


Dime

by E. R. Frank Atheneum Books for Young Readers (May 26, 2015)

The startling realities of teen prostitution are revealed in this eye-opening, heartbreaking story from the author of America, which Booklist called “a piercing, unforgettable novel” and Kirkus Reviews deemed...


And Then Things Fall Apart

by Arlaina Tibensky Simon Pulse (July 26, 2011)

Keek’s life was totally perfect.

 

Keek and her boyfriend just had their Worst Fight Ever, her best friend heinously betrayed her, her parents are divorcing, and her mom’s across the country caring for her...


Silent to the Bone

by E.L. Konigsburg Atheneum Books for Young Readers (July 12, 2011)

Connor is sure his best friend, Branwell, couldn't have hurt Branwell's baby half sister, Nikki. But Nikki lies in a coma, and Branwell is in a juvenile behavioral center, suspected of a horrible crime and unable...


Call Me Hope

by Gretchen Olson Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 26, 2009)

As 11-year-old Hope struggles to live under the pressures of her verbally abusive mother, she's tempted to run away but instead chooses resilience. She creates a secret safe haven and an innovative point system...