Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Social Situations / Death & Dying

Best Selling

Language

All

English (32)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (1)

Current year (4)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (14)

 

Category

Delete Death & Dying

 

Audience

 

Publisher

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (16)

Blackstone Publishing (5)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (20)

AUDIOBOOK (12)

 

Total Loans

All (69)

20 - 40 (36)

40 - 100 (1)

Over 100 (32)

More options

Results : 1 - 32 of 32 Sorted by : 

Spindlefish and Stars

by Christiane M. Andrews Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 21, 2020)

Inspired by Greek mythology, this spellbinding fantasy invites readers to seek connections, to forge their own paths, and to explore the power of storytelling in our interwoven histories.

In which a story is...


The Canyon's Edge

by Dusti Bowling Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 07, 2020)

Hatchet meets Long Way Down in this heartfelt and gripping novel in verse about a young girl's struggle for survival after a climbing trip with her father goes terribly wrong.

One year after a random shooting...


My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

by Annabel Pitcher & David Tennant Hachette Book Group (August 14, 2012)

Ten-year-old Jamie Matthews has just moved to the Lake District with his dad and his teenage sister Jasmine for a "fresh new start." Five years ago, his sister's twin, Rose, was blown up by a terrorist bomb....


The Light in the Lake

by Sarah R. Baughman Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 02, 2019)

Go on a journey of discovery, magic, science, and hope with this remarkable debut novel about a girl's powerful connection to a mysterious lake.

Twelve-year-old Addie should stay away from Maple Lake. After all,...


The Reckless Club

by Beth Vrabel Running Press Kids (October 01, 2018)

From award-winning author Beth Vrabel comes a new middle-grade Breakfast Club drama set in a old folks' home.

On the last day of middle school, five kids who couldn't be more different commit separate pranks,...


Mayday

by Karen Harrington Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (May 23, 2016)

In the tradition of Counting By 7s and The Thing About Jellyfish, a heartwarming coming-of-age story about grief, family, friendship, and the importance of finding your voice

Wayne Kovok lives in a world of...


The Secret Life of Sam

by Kim Ventrella & Todd Menesses HarperCollins (September 29, 2020)

The timelessness of Bridge to Terabithia meets the wonder of Big Fish in this bittersweet, magical story, perfect for fans of Barbara O'Connor, Lisa Graff, and Dan Gemeinhart.

When Sam's dad dies in a car accident,...


Dan Unmasked

by Chris Negron & Josh Hurley HarperCollins (July 28, 2020)

This heartfelt middle grade debut about grief, creativity, and the healing power of friendship shows that not all heroes wear capes and is perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Ali Benjamin.

Whether they're...


Through to You

by Emily Hainsworth & Jesse Bernstein Balzer + Bray (October 02, 2012)

Camden Pike has been grief-stricken since his girlfriend, Viv, died. Viv was the last good thing in his life: helping him rebuild his identity after a career-ending football injury, picking up the pieces when...


Eleven and Holding

by Mary Penney & Cassandra Morris HarperCollins (June 07, 2016)

Macy Hollinquest is eleven years old, and don't count on her to change that anytime soon.

Her birthday is just days away, but she has no intention of turning twelve without her dad by her side. He'd promised...


Swing Sideways

by Nanci Turner Steveson & Tara Sands HarperCollins (May 03, 2016)

Perfect for fans of Bridge to Terabithia and Walk Two Moons, this debut middle grade novel is the story of two girls and the unforgettable summer in which they learn about true friendship and loss.      ...


Maggie Vaults Over the Moon

by Grant Overstake & Tavia Gilbert Grant Overstake (March 31, 2015)

See what can happen when you follow your dreams!

Maggie Steele is a gritty farm girl from tiny Grain Valley,Kansas, who pours her broken heart into the daring, dangerous sport ofpole-vaulting. Driven by a secret...


The Lost Flower Children

by Janet Taylor Lisle & Caitlin Davies Blackstone Publishing (November 01, 2012)

Motherless Olivia and Nellie go to live with their elderly Great-Aunt Minty, who knows little about children, but a lot about her overgrown garden. Then one day, Olivia finds an old teacup in a flowerbed--and...


It's the End of the World as I Know It

by Matthew Landis & Matt Godfrey Blackstone Publishing (December 24, 2019)

Derrick is sure that doomsday is coming, and he's prepping to survive--whether his friends believe him or not--in this middle-grade novel for fans of Gary Schmidt, Gordon Korman, and Jack Gantos.

Ever since his...


My Brother Sam Is Dead

by James Lincoln Collier, Christopher Collier & John C. Brown Blackstone Publishing (October 01, 2011)

The classic story of one family torn apart by the Revolutionary War

All his life, Tim Meeker has looked up to his brother. Sam is smart and brave, and is now a part of the American Revolution. Not everyone in...


The Linden Tree

by Ellie Mathews & Marguerite Gavin Blackstone Publishing (July 18, 2008)

When eleven-year-old Katy Sue loses her mother to meningitis, she and her family must adjust to life without her. The rural farm in the 1940s provides a natural backdrop that is rhythmic and routine but unforgiving,...


The Shiloh Renewal

by Joan Leslie Woodruff & Rebecca Rogers Blackstone Publishing (January 01, 2006)

Two teenage girls, sisters a year apart, are in a terrible auto accident near where they live, a few miles from the Civil War battlefield at Shiloh. Penny, the older sister, is killed outright, while Sandy,...


Minna's Patchwork Coat

by Lauren A. Mills Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (November 02, 2015)

In this charming historical novel, acclaimed artist Lauren A. Mills reimagines her beloved picture book, The Rag Coat, with fifty delicate pencil illustrations and an expanded story about a resilient little...


The Thing About Jellyfish

by Ali Benjamin Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 21, 2015)

This stunning debut novel about grief and wonder was an instant New York Times bestseller and captured widespread critical acclaim, including selection as a 2015 National Book Award finalist!

After her best...


Yours Truly

by Annabel Pitcher Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (October 06, 2014)

Previously published under the title Ketchup Clouds

Dear Mr. S. Harris,

Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I don't think I need to tell you the difference. It wasn't your...


I Crawl Through It

by A.S. King Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 21, 2015)

Four teenagers are on the verge of exploding. The anxieties they face at every turn have nearly pushed them to the point of surrender: senseless high-stakes testing, the lingering damage of past trauma, the...


A Million Miles Away

by Lara Avery Poppy (July 06, 2015)

Twin sisters Kelsey and Michelle Maxfield look identical -- but they couldn't be more different. Kelsey is the captain of the dance team and loves her cute college boyfriend, Davis. Michelle is a free-spirited...


Not If I See You First

by Eric Lindstrom Poppy (November 30, 2015)

In the tradition of Gayle Forman and John Green comes this extraordinary YA debut about a blind teen girl navigating life and love in high school.

Parker Grant doesn't need 20/20 vision to see right through...


The Red Pencil

by Andrea Davis Pinkney & Shane W. Evans Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 15, 2014)

"Amira, look at me," Muma insists.She collects both my hands in hers."The Janjaweed attack without warning.If ever they come-- run."

Finally, Amira is twelve. Old enough to wear a toob, old enough for new responsibilities....


Torn Away

by Jennifer Brown Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (May 05, 2014)

Jersey Cameron has always loved a good storm. Watching the clouds roll in and the wind pick up. Smelling the electricity in the air. Dancing barefoot in the rain. She lives in the Midwest, after all, where the...


If You Find This

by Matthew Baker Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (March 16, 2015)

Mixing mystery and adventure in the tradition of Louis Sachar, Avi, and E.L. Konigsburg, If You Find This is the story of unlikely friendships, unexpected bravery and eleven-year-old Nicholas Funes's quest to...


The White Glove War

by Katie Crouch & Grady Hendrix Poppy (July 02, 2012)

Money, beauty, power, and love -- the youngest members of the Magnolia League have it all. Some may call them lucky, but the truth is they're charmed. Armed with spells, potions, and conjures from the powerful...


How to Save a Life

by Sara Zarr Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (October 17, 2011)

Jill MacSweeny just wishes everything could go back to normal. But ever since her dad died, she's been isolating herself from her boyfriend, her best friends -- everyone who wants to support her. When her mom...


Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life

by Wendy Mass Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (November 29, 2010)

In one month Jeremy Fink will turn thirteen. But does he have what it takes to be a teenager? He collects mutant candy, he won't venture more than four blocks from his apartment if he can help it, and he definitely...


All Together Now (previously published as Sorta Like a Rock Star)

by Matthew Quick Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (April 30, 2010)

Coming to Netflix this summer as a major motion picture called ALL TOGETHER NOW

Juno meets Stargirl in this fresh and funny yet heartbreaking novel

Amber Appleton lives in a bus. Ever since her mom's boyfriend...


Twenty Boy Summer

by Sarah Ockler Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (May 31, 2009)

"Don't worry, Anna. I'll tell her, okay? Just let me think about the best way to do it."

"Okay."

"Promise me? Promise you won't say anything?"

"Don't worry." I laughed. "It's our secret, right?"

According to her...


Eggs

by Jerry Spinelli Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (May 31, 2007)

Nine-year-old David has recently lost his mother to a freak accident, his salesman father is constantly on the road, and he is letting his anger out on his grandmother. Sarcastic and bossy 13-year-old Primrose...