Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Social Situations / Social Issues / Depression & Mental Illness

Best Selling

Language

All

English (27)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Category

Delete Depression & Mental Illness

 

Audience

Young adult (2)

 

Publisher

Simon Pulse (7)

Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (5)

 

Total Loans

All (40)

20 - 40 (27)

40 - 100 (13)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 27 of 27 Sorted by : 

Made You Up

by Francesca Zappia Greenwillow Books (May 19, 2015)

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. For fans of Silver Linings Playbook and Liar, this thought-provoking debut tells the story...


OCD Love Story

by Corey Ann Haydu Simon Pulse (July 23, 2013)

In this “raw and well-crafted (Kirkus Reviews)” romance, Bea learns that some things just can’t be controlled.

When Bea meets Beck, she knows instantly that he’s her kind of crazy. Sweet, strong, kinda-messed-up...


Letting Ana Go

by Anonymous Simon Pulse (June 04, 2013)

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, a harrowing account of anorexia and addiction.

She was a good girl from a good family, with everything she could want or need. But below the surface, she...


Wild Awake

by Hilary T. Smith Katherine Tegen Books (May 28, 2013)

In Wild Awake, Hilary T. Smith's exhilarating and heart-wrenching YA debut novel, seventeen-year-old Kiri Byrd has big plans for her summer without her parents. She intends to devote herself to her music and...


My Beautiful Failure

by Janet Ruth Young Atheneum Books for Young Readers (November 13, 2012)

The haunting account of a teen boy who volunteers at a suicide hotline and falls for a troubled caller.

As her life spirals out of control, Jenney’s calls become more desperate, more frequent. Billy, struggling...


Things I Shouldn't Think

by Janet Ruth Young Atheneum Books for Young Readers (November 13, 2012)

Everyone has disturbing thoughts sometimes. But for seventeen-year-old Dani Solomon, strange thoughts have taken over her life. She loves Alex, the little boy she babysits, more than anything. Then one day she...


A Blind Guide to Stinkville

by Beth Vrabel Sky Pony (August 02, 2016)

Before Stinkville, Alice didn’t think albinism—or the blindness that goes with it—was a big deal. Sure, she uses a magnifier to read books. And a cane keeps her from bruising her hips on tables. Putting...


Counting Backwards

by Laura Lascarso Atheneum Books for Young Readers (August 14, 2012)

In this haunting and hopeful debut novel, a teen’s court-mandated psychiatric residency prompts a change in perspective from which there is no looking back.

Taylor Truwell is a sixteen-year-old girl from Florida...


Where the Watermelons Grow

by Cindy Baldwin HarperCollins (July 03, 2018)

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin’s debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother’s mental illness.

When twelve-year-old Della...


Wishbones

by Virginia Macgregor HQ Young Adult (May 18, 2017)

Feather Tucker has two wishes:

1)To get her mum healthy again

2) To win the Junior UK swimming championships

When Feather comes home on New Year’s Eve to find her mother – one of Britain’s most obese women-...


Fragile Like Us

by Sara Barnard Simon Pulse (July 18, 2017)

A pitch perfect novel about friendship and what it takes to break the bonds between friends, “for fans of Morgan Matson and Sarah Dessen” (VOYA).

Caddy and Rosie have always been inseparable. But that was...


Vilonia Beebe Takes Charge

by Kristin L. Gray Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (March 07, 2017)

“A heartfelt read filled with nuanced characters; recommended for those seeking a fast-paced adventure with a very human story.” —School Library Journal

“A humorous, poignant, realistic debut story.”...


The Opposite of Music

by Janet Ruth Young Simon Pulse (June 30, 2008)

when i am well

i will take you

At first Billy's father just seemed distant, as if he had something on his mind. Then he stopped listening to music, saying it hurt his ears. After a while he stopped eating and...


Glimpse

by Carol Lynch Williams Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (June 22, 2010)

Twelve-year-old Hope’s life is turned upside down when her older sister, Lizzie, becomes an elective mute and is institutionalized after trying to kill herself.

Hope and Lizzie have relied on each other from...


Echo

by Kate Morgenroth Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (May 12, 2009)

How can I know what's going to happen?

But somehow he did know. The feeling was like déjà vu but stronger...and scarier. It told him that without a doubt something was going to happen. And it was going to...


Waiting

by Carol Lynch Williams Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (May 01, 2012)

After her brother’s death, a teen struggles to rediscover love and find redemption in this “stunningly powerful free-verse story” (VOYA).

Growing up, London and Zach were as close as could be. And then...


Burnout

by Adrienne Maria Vrettos Margaret K. McElderry Books (September 13, 2011)

A teen wakes up to find her nightmare is real in a novel Kirkus Reviews calls “stark, compelling, perceptive: a winner” (starred review).

On the day after Halloween, Nan wakes up in a subway car. She is not...


Possession

by M. Verano Simon Pulse (August 30, 2016)

In the tradition of Paranormal Activity and The Exorcist, an ordinary girl with a strange illness recounts her experience with the dark and ancient entity that’s making her sick in this chilling diary that...


Tell Me Something Real

by Calla Devlin Atheneum Books for Young Readers (August 30, 2016)

Three sisters struggle with the bonds that hold their family together as they face a darkness settling over their lives in this “one of a kind” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) debut novel that’s a finalist...


Some Kind of Happiness

by Claire Legrand Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (May 17, 2016)

Reality and fantasy collide in this “beautiful and reflective tale” (Booklist, starred review) for fans of Counting by 7s and Bridge to Terabithia, about a girl who must save a magical make-believe world...


Eleven and Holding

by Mary Penney HarperCollins (June 07, 2016)

Macy Hollinquest is eleven years old, and don’t count on her to change that anytime soon.

Her birthday is just days away, but she has no intention of turning twelve without her dad by her side. He’d promised...


OCDaniel

by Wesley King Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (April 12, 2016)

EDGAR AWARD WINNER FOR BEST MYSTERY

BANK STREET BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

SILVER BIRCH AWARD WINNER

“Complex and satisfying. Written from Daniel’s point of view, this perceptive first-person narrative is sometimes...


We Are the Ants

by Shaun David Hutchinson Simon Pulse (January 19, 2016)

From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley comes an “equal parts sarcastic and profound” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) novel about a teenage boy who must decide...


Fig

by Sarah Elizabeth Schantz Margaret K. McElderry Books (April 07, 2015)

An NPR Best Book of 2015

Love and sacrifice intertwine in this brilliant debut of rare beauty about a girl dealing with her mother’s schizophrenia and her own mental illness.

Fig’s world lies somewhere between...


Footer Davis Probably Is Crazy

by Susan Vaught & Jennifer Black Reinhardt Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (March 03, 2015)

Winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Award for best mystery

Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year

“Like its heroine, this contemporary mystery is compelling, offbeat, and fearless.” —The Horn Book

“A...


The Bargaining

by Carly Anne West Simon Pulse (February 17, 2015)

The Shining meets The Conjuring in this scary and suspenseful novel “akin to old Stephen King novels” (School Library Journal).

The fact that neither of her parents wants to deal with her is nothing new to...


Fans of the Impossible Life

by Kate Scelsa Balzer + Bray (September 08, 2015)

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is...