Human Science / Language arts & disciplines

Best Selling

Language

All

English (20)

French (2)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (20)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (14)

 

Category

Delete Language arts & disciplines

 

In category

Communication Studies (4)

Library & Information Science (3)

Composition & Creative Writing (2)

Linguistics (2)

Literacy (1)

Reading Skills (1)

Vocabulary (1)

Public Speaking (1)

Journalism (1)

Handwriting (1)

Grammar & Punctuation (1)

Style Manuals (1)

 

Audience

Adult (20)

 

Publisher

 

Total Loans

All (8)

20 - 40 (8)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 20 of 20 Sorted by : 

The History of Human Speech and the Significance of Language

by Michel Breal & Edward Sapir Literature and Knowledge Publishing (September 05, 2019)

Perhaps no single feature so markedly sets off man from the rest of the animal world as the gift of speech, which he alone possesses. No community of normal human beings, be their advance in culture ever so...


Using Film and Media in the Language Classroom

by Dr. Carmen Herrero & Isabelle Vanderschelden Multilingual Matters (July 02, 2019)

This book demonstrates the positive impact of using film and audiovisual material in the language classroom. The chapters are evidence-based and address different levels and contexts of learning around the world....


Grammatical Profiles

by Dr. Martin J. Ball, Paul Fletcher & David Crystal Multilingual Matters (July 02, 2019)

This book brings together 12 previously unpublished language profiles based on the original Language Assessment, Remediation and Screening Procedure (LARSP). The languages featured are: Bangla, Croatian, Colombian...


Profiling Learner Language as a Dynamic System

by Dr. ZhaoHong Han Multilingual Matters (July 02, 2019)

This volume sheds empirical light on Complex Dynamic Systems Theory (CDST) by providing five sets of analyses of two longitudinal, interactional datasets, involving two dyads exchanging emails over one academic...


Language and Literacy Development, Second Edition

by James P. Byrnes & Barbara A. Wasik The Guilford Press (July 09, 2019)

This established text--now revised and updated--reveals how spoken language skills are acquired and how they affect children’s later reading and writing achievement. With a unique focus on the needs of educators,...


Communication and Discourse Theory

by Leen Van Brussel, Nico Carpentier & Benjamin de Cleen Intellect (February 12, 2019)

This volume gathers the work of the Brussels group of critical media and communication scholars that deploy discourse theory as theoretical backbone and analytical research perspective. The book seeks to show...


This Bridge We Call Communication

by Robert Gutierrez-Perez, Leandra Hinojosa Hernández, Xamuel Bañales & Sara Baugh-Harris et al. Lexington Books (January 15, 2019)

This Bridge We Call Communication: Anzaldúan Approaches to Theory, Method, and Praxis explores contemporary communication research studies, performative writing, poetry, Latina/o studies, and gender studies...


Introduction to Information Visualization

by Gerald Benoit Rowman & Littlefield Publishers (February 08, 2019)

Introduction to Information Visualization: Transforming Data into Meaningful Information is for anyone interested in the art and science of communicating data to others. It shows readers how to transform data...


The Digital Archives Handbook

by Aaron D. Purcell Rowman & Littlefield Publishers (February 08, 2019)

The Digital Archives Handbook provides archivists a roadmap to create and care for digital archives. Written by archival experts and practitioners, Purcell brings together theoretical and practical approaches...


Creativity and Copyright

by John L. Geiger & Howard Suber University of California Press (May 14, 2019)

Inspired by Strunk & White's The Elements of Style, this elegant, short reference is the perfect guide for screenwriters and creative artists looking to succeed as industry professionals. Readers will quickly...


Tech for All

by Lauren Comito Rowman & Littlefield Publishers (February 08, 2019)

How can libraries ensure that patrons from all socio-economic and ethnic backgrounds have access to advanced technology training and hardware? Everyone knows libraries provide access to computers and the internet...


How to Raise a Reader

by Pamela Paul, Maria Russo, Lisk Feng & Dan Yaccarino et al. Workman Publishing Company (September 03, 2019)

An indispensable guide to welcoming children—from babies to teens—to a lifelong love of reading, written by Pamela Paul and Maria Russo, editors of The New York Times Book Review.

 

Do you remember your...


Your Guide to Public Speaking

by Amanda Hennessey Adams Media (May 14, 2019)

Are you part of the 73% of the population that experiences anxiety from public speaking? Face your fears with this valuable guide that combines real-world case studies and practice activities to help build your...


The 1-Minute Writer

by Leigh Medeiros Adams Media (January 01, 2019)

One minute of daily writing is better than twenty minutes every two weeks—let this fun and helpful handbook of quick, easy writing prompts show you why short bursts of writing are essential to flexing your...


The Lost Art of Handwriting

by Brenna Jordan Adams Media (March 05, 2019)

Revisit the lost art of writing with these fun prompts, worksheets, exercises—and more!—and experience the many benefits of writing by hand, including increased focus and memory, relaxation, and creative...


Reader's Digest Use Your Words

by Reader's Digest Reader's Digest (February 05, 2019)

Want to feel smarter?  Want to have the perfect quip at the tip of your tongue?  Use Your Words combines Word Power Quizzes and Quotable Quotes from Reader's Digest, Amercia's Most Popular Magazine so you...


Merchants of Truth

by Jill Abramson Simon & Schuster (February 05, 2019)

The definitive report on the disruption of the news media over the last decade. With the expert guidance of former Executive Editor of The New York Times Jill Abramson, we follow two legacy (The New York Times...


Semicolon

by Cecelia Watson Ecco (July 30, 2019)

A page-turning, existential romp through the life and times of the world’s most polarizing punctuation mark

The semicolon. Stephen King, Hemingway, Vonnegut, and Orwell detest it. Herman Melville, Henry James,...


Championing Science

by Roger D. Aines & Amy L. Aines University of California Press (January 15, 2019)

In this lively collection, bestselling author Adam Hochschild has selected some two dozen essays and pieces of reportage from his long career. Threading through them all is his concern for social justice and...


Talk to Me

by Dean Nelson Harper Perennial (February 19, 2019)

From respected journalist, professor, and founder of the Writer's Symposium by the Sea, a book that demystifies the art and science of interviewing, in the vein of On Writing Well or How to Read Literature Like...