Science and Technics / Science / Life Sciences / Biology

Best Selling

Language

All

English (36)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (9)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (18)

 

Category

Delete Biology

 

In category

Microbiology (7)

Developmental Biology (3)

Molecular Biology (1)

Marine Biology (1)

 

Audience

Adult (36)

 

Publisher

Blackstone Publishing (12)

Basic Books (9)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (18)

AUDIOBOOK (18)

 

Total Loans

All (61)

20 - 40 (19)

40 - 100 (6)

Over 100 (36)

More options

Results : 1 - 36 of 36 Sorted by : 

We Know It When We See It

by Richard Masland Basic Books (March 09, 2020)

A Harvard researcher investigates the human eye in this insightful account of what vision reveals about intelligence, learning, and the greatest mysteries of neuroscience.

Spotting a face in a crowd is so easy,...


The Dance of Life

by Magdalena Zernicka-Goetz & Roger Highfield Basic Books (February 24, 2020)

A renowned biologist's cutting-edge and unconventional examination of human reproduction and embryo research

Scientists have long struggled to make pregnancy easier, safer, and more successful. In The Dance...


Fighting for Space

by Amy Shira Teitel Grand Central Publishing (February 17, 2020)

Spaceflight historian Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.

When the space age dawned in the late 1950s, Jackie Cochran held...


Transcendence

by Gaia Vince Basic Books (January 20, 2020)

In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species

"A wondrous, visionary...


IFLScience 117 Things You Should F*#king Know About Your World

by The Writers of Iflscience & Paul Parsons Running Press Adult (October 07, 2019)

IFLScience presents the most intriguing and far-out facts about space, technology, the human brain, nature, and so much more that you should know, right now!

117 Things You Should F*#ing Know About Your World...


The Science of Cancer

by Scientific American & Suzie Althens Blackstone Publishing (June 09, 2020)

The past few years have seen tremendous strides in our understanding of cancer, including new hypotheses about its genetic origins and new treatment alternatives using the body's own immune response. In The...


Mysteries of Life in the Universe

by Scientific American & Bernadette Dunne Blackstone Publishing (June 09, 2020)

How did life begin on Earth? Does it exist elsewhere? What would those life forms be like? These fundamental questions about the nature of life and our own cosmic significance are endlessly fascinating. In this...


The Perfect Predator

by Steffanie Strathdee, Thomas Patterson, Christine Lakin & Dan Woren et al. Hachette Book Group (February 26, 2019)

A "fascinating and terrifying" (Scientific American) memoir of one woman's extraordinary effort to save her husband's life-and the discovery of a forgotten cure that has the potential to save millions more....


The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons

by Sam Kean & Henry Leyva Hachette Book Group (May 06, 2014)

From the author of the bestseller The Disappearing Spoon comes this tale of the brain and the history of neuroscience.

Early studies of the functions of the human brain used a simple method: wait for misfortune...


The Perfect Predator

by Steffanie Strathdee, Thomas Patterson & Teresa Barker Hachette Books (February 25, 2019)

A "fascinating and terrifying" memoir of one woman's extraordinary effort to save her husband's life (Scientific American) -- and the discovery of a forgotten cure that has the potential to save millions more....


Consider the Platypus

by Maggie Ryan Sandford & Rodica Prato Black Dog & Leventhal (August 26, 2019)

*FINALIST FOR THE 2020 GENERAL NONFICTION MINNESOTA BOOK AWARDS*

Interested in the origins of the species? Consider the Platypus uses pets such as dogs and cats as well as animal outliers like the axolotl and...


The Breakthrough

by Charles Graeber Twelve (November 12, 2018)

New York Times bestselling author Charles Graeber details the astonishing scientific discovery of the code to unleashing the human immune system to fight -- and possibly even cure -- cancer, in this "captivating...


In Search of the Canary Tree

by Lauren E. Oakes Basic Books (November 26, 2018)

The award-winning and surprisingly hopeful story of one woman's search for resiliency in a warming world

Several years ago, ecologist Lauren E. Oakes set out from California for Alaska's old-growth forests to...


Sleepyhead

by Henry Nicholls Basic Books (September 03, 2018)

A narcoleptic's tireless journey through the neuroscience of disordered sleep

Whether it's a bout of bad jet lag or a stress-induced all-nighter, we've all suffered from nights that left us feeling less than...


The Equations of Life

by Charles S. Cockell Basic Books (June 18, 2018)

A groundbreaking argument for why alien life will evolve to be much like life here on Earth

We are all familiar with the popular idea of strange alien life wildly different from life on earth inhabiting other...


Magnitude

by Kimberly Arcand & Megan Watzke Black Dog & Leventhal (November 20, 2017)

In the tradition of illustrated science bestsellers, like Thing Explainer and harkening back to the classic film The Powers of Ten, this unique, fully-illustrated, four-color book explores and visualizes the...


Coyote America

by Dan Flores Basic Books (September 04, 2017)

"A masterly synthesis of scientific research and personal observation." --Wall Street Journal

Legends don't come close to capturing the incredible story of the coyote In the face of centuries of campaigns of...


The Triumph of Seeds

by Thor Hanson Basic Books (March 23, 2015)

As seen on PBS's American Spring LIVE, the award-winning author of Buzz and Feathers presents a natural and human history of seeds, the marvels of the plant kingdom.

"The genius of Hanson's fascinating, inspiring,...


Biopunk

by Marcus Wohlsen & Richard Powers Blackstone Publishing (January 03, 2017)

Bill Gates told Wired that if he were a teenager today, he would be hacking biology. "If you want to change the world in some big way," he says, "that's where you should start--biological molecules."

The most...


The Book of Eels

by Patrik Svensson & Alex Wyndham HarperAudio (May 26, 2020)

Part H Is for Hawk, part The Soul of an OctopusThe Book of Eels is both a meditation on the world's most elusive fish--the eel--and a reflection on the human condition.

Remarkably little is known about...


I Contain Multitudes

by Ed Yong & Charlie Anson HarperAudio (August 09, 2016)

Joining the ranks of popular science classics like The Botany of Desire and The Selfish Gene, a groundbreaking, wondrously informative, and vastly entertaining examination of the most significant revolution...


The Dance of Life

by Magdalena Zernicka-Goetz, Roger Highfield & Shaina Summerville Basic Books (February 25, 2020)

A renowned biologist's cutting-edge and unconventional examination of human reproduction and embryo research

Scientists have long struggled to make pregnancy easier, safer, and more successful. In The Dance...


A Brief History of Creation

by Bill Mesler, H. James Cleaves & Sean Runnette Blackstone Publishing (December 07, 2015)

How did life begin?

It is perhaps the most important question science has ever asked. Over the centuries, the search for an answer has been entwined with some of science's most revolutionary advances, including...


The Diet Myth

by Tim Spector & Gildart Jackson Blackstone Publishing (September 08, 2015)

From the author of Identically Different comes a new look at nutritional health, showing us that breakthrough research on microbiomes--the microbes in our stomachs--could hold the key to healthy, balanced diets....


Do Elephants Have Knees? and Other Stories of Darwinian Origins

by Charles R. Ault & Paul Michael Garcia Blackstone Publishing (September 15, 2016)

What makes a penguin a bird? Is a camel more closely related to a horse than to a giraffe? Why is a whale not a fish? Similar puzzles preoccupied Charles Darwin throughout his life. Whimsy, in the playfulness...


The Lives of a Cell

by Lewis Thomas & Grover Gardner Blackstone Publishing (July 11, 2017)

In The Lives of a Cell, Dr. Thomas opens up to the listener a universe of knowledge and perception that is perhaps not wholly unfamiliar to the research scientist; but the world he explores is one of men and...


Fighting for Space

by Amy Shira Teitel Grand Central Publishing (February 18, 2020)

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.

A book that will appeal...


Pleased to Meet Me

The Medusa and the Snail

by Lewis Thomas & Stuart Langton Blackstone Publishing (January 08, 2008)

Lewis Thomas has been said to be a philosopher who uses the language of biology. His fascinating observations on the quirkiness of the world's infinite creations causes listeners to ponder the workings of the...


The Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection

by Charles Darwin & Robin Field Blackstone Publishing (September 30, 2011)

The Origin of Species sold out on the first day of its publication in 1859. It is the major book of the nineteenth century and one of the most readable and accessible of the great revolutionary works of the...


Biology, Second Edition

by Eli C. Minkoff & Jeff Riggenbach Blackstone Publishing (June 23, 2009)

Designed to be compatible with virtually every standard textbook in their subject field, Barron's EZ-101 Study Keys give you a valuable overview of your college-level course. Classroom-style notes emphasize...


The Secret Language of Dolphins

by Patricia St.John & Bernadette Dunne Blackstone Publishing (June 26, 2005)

In her extraordinary work with dolphins, Patricia St.John broke new ground in opening little-known worlds, all in pursuit of what she fiercely believed in: learning the languages of those who have been unreachable....


The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons

by Sam Kean Little, Brown and Company (May 05, 2014)

The author of the bestseller The Disappearing Spoon reveals the secret inner workings of the brain through strange but true stories.

Early studies of the human brain used a simple method: wait for misfortune...


Too Much of a Good Thing

by Lee Goldman Little, Brown and Company (December 08, 2015)

The dean of Columbia University's medical school explains why our bodies are out of sync with today's environment and how we can correct this to save our health.

Over the past 200 years, human life-expectancy...


The Man Who Touched His Own Heart

by Rob Dunn Little, Brown and Company (February 03, 2015)

The secret history of our most vital organ: the human heart.

The Man Who Touched His Own Heart tells the raucous, gory, mesmerizing story of the heart, from the first "explorers" who dug up cadavers and plumbed...


The Violinist's Thumb

by Sam Kean Little, Brown and Company (July 16, 2012)

From New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean comes incredible stories of science, history, language, and music, as told by our own DNA.

In The Disappearing Spoon, bestselling author Sam Kean unlocked the...