Social science / Anthropology

Best Selling

Language

All

English (18)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Category

Delete Anthropology

 

Audience

Adult (18)

 

Publisher

Basic Books (6)

Little, Brown and Company (5)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (18)

AUDIOBOOK (27)

 

Total Loans

All (42)

20 - 40 (21)

40 - 100 (3)

Over 100 (18)

More options

Results : 1 - 18 of 18 Sorted by : 

Origins

by Lewis Dartnell Basic Books (May 13, 2019)

A New York Times-bestselling author explains how the physical world shaped the history of our species

When we talk about human history, we often focus on great leaders, population forces, and decisive wars. But...


Upheaval

by Jared Diamond Little, Brown and Company (May 06, 2019)

A "riveting and illuminating" Bill Gates Summer Reading pick about how and why some nations recover from trauma and others don't (Yuval Noah Harari), by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of the landmark bestseller...


In Search of the Canary Tree

by Lauren E. Oakes Basic Books (November 26, 2018)

The award-winning and surprisingly hopeful story of one woman's search for resiliency in a warming world

Several years ago, ecologist Lauren E. Oakes set out from California for Alaska's old-growth forests to...


The Human Swarm

by Mark W. Moffett Basic Books (April 15, 2019)

The epic story and ultimate big history of how human society evolved from intimate chimp communities into the sprawling civilizations of a world-dominating species

If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory...


A Walking Life

by Antonia Malchik Da Capo Lifelong Books (May 06, 2019)

For readers of On Trails, this is an incisive, utterly engaging exploration of walking: how it is fundamental to our being human, how we've designed it out of our lives, and how it is essential that we reembrace...


Untrue

by Wednesday Martin Little, Brown Spark (September 17, 2018)

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Primates of Park Avenue, a bold, timely reconsideration of female infidelity that will upend everything you thought you knew about women and sex.

What do straight,...


The Animal's Companion

by Jacky Colliss Harvey Black Dog & Leventhal (April 01, 2019)

A unique and compelling exploration of why humans need animal companions -- from dogs and cats to horses, birds, and reptiles -- through the eyes of a New York Times bestselling historical detective author....


The Last Whalers

by Doug Bock Clark Little, Brown and Company (January 07, 2019)

In this "immersive, densely reported, and altogether remarkable first book [with] the texture and color of a first-rate novel" (New York Times), journalist Doug Bock Clark tells the epic story of the world's...


Kings of the Yukon

by Adam Weymouth Little, Brown and Company (May 14, 2018)

A thrilling journey by canoe across Alaska, by critically acclaimed writer Adam Weymouth.

The Yukon river is 2,000 miles long, the longest stretch of free-flowing river in the United States. In this riveting...


The Taste of Empire

by Lizzie Collingham Basic Books (October 02, 2017)

A history of the British Empire told through twenty meals eaten around the world

In The Taste of Empire, acclaimed historian Lizzie Collingham tells the story of how the British Empire's quest for food shaped...


The Kingdom of Speech

by Tom Wolfe Little, Brown and Company (August 29, 2016)

The maestro storyteller and reporter provocatively argues that what we think we know about speech and human evolution is wrong.

Tom Wolfe, whose legend began in journalism, takes us on an eye-opening journey...


Do Parents Matter?

by Robert A. Levine & Sarah Levine PublicAffairs (September 05, 2016)

When it comes to parenting, more isn't always better-but it is always more tiring

In Japan, a boy sleeps in his parents' bed until age ten, but still shows independence in all other areas of his life. In rural...


Wild Nights

by Benjamin Reiss Basic Books (March 06, 2017)

Why the modern world forgot how to sleep

Why is sleep frustrating for so many people? Why do we spend so much time and money managing and medicating it, and training ourselves and our children to do it correctly?...


The Interpretation Of Cultures

by Clifford Geertz & Robert Darnton Basic Books (August 14, 2017)

One of the twentieth century's most influential books, this classic work of anthropology offers a groundbreaking exploration of what culture is

With The Interpretation of Cultures, the distinguished anthropologist...


Top Dog

by Po Bronson & Ashley Merryman Twelve (February 19, 2013)

New York Times Bestseller

Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman's work changes the national dialogue. Beyond their bestselling books, you know them from commentary and features in the New York Times, CNN, NPR, Time...


The Mummy Congress

by Heather Pringle Hachette Books (June 06, 2001)

Mummies, experts, and breaking science revealed in journalist Pringle's fascinating dive into a little-known arena of human studies.

Perhaps the most eccentric of all scientific meetings, the World Congress on...


Total Tattoo Book

by Amy Krakow Grand Central Publishing (June 03, 2008)

The most comprehensive book yet on this unique art form. Whether flaunted or hidden, sought as art or curiosity, the tatoo has left its mark on generations. From its beginnings as a pagan ornament to today's...


Leaving Mother Lake

by Yang Erche Namu & Christine Mathieu Little, Brown and Company (September 02, 2007)

The haunting memoir of a girl growing up in the Moso country in the Himalayas -- a unique matrilineal society. But even in this land of women, familial tension is eternal. Namu is a strong-willed daughter, and...