Basic Books / Social science / Anthropology

Best Selling

Language

All

English (9)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Publisher

Delete Basic Books

 

Category

Delete Anthropology

 

Audience

Adult (9)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (9)

AUDIOBOOK (0)

 

Total Loans

All (9)

20 - 40 (0)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (9)

More options

Results : 1 - 9 of 9 Sorted by : 

Transcendence

by Gaia Vince Basic Books (January 20, 2020)

In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species

"A wondrous, visionary...


The Little Ice Age

by Brian Fagan Basic Books (November 25, 2019)

Only in the last decade have climatologists developed an accurate picture of yearly climate conditions in historical times. This development confirmed a long-standing suspicion: that the world endured a 500-year...


Are Men Animals?

by Matthew Gutmann Basic Books (November 11, 2019)

"Boys will be boys," the saying goes -- but what does that actually mean? A leading anthropologist investigates

Why do men behave the way they do? Is it their male brains? Surging testosterone? From vulgar locker-room...


Origins

by Lewis Dartnell Basic Books (May 13, 2019)

A New York Times-bestselling author explains how the physical world shaped the history of our species

When we talk about human history, we often focus on great leaders, population forces, and decisive wars. But...


In Search of the Canary Tree

by Lauren E. Oakes Basic Books (November 26, 2018)

The award-winning and surprisingly hopeful story of one woman's search for resiliency in a warming world

Several years ago, ecologist Lauren E. Oakes set out from California for Alaska's old-growth forests to...


The Human Swarm

by Mark W. Moffett Basic Books (April 15, 2019)

The epic story and ultimate big history of how human society evolved from intimate chimp communities into the sprawling civilizations of a world-dominating species

If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory...


The Taste of Empire

by Lizzie Collingham Basic Books (October 02, 2017)

A history of the British Empire told through twenty meals eaten around the world

In The Taste of Empire, acclaimed historian Lizzie Collingham tells the story of how the British Empire's quest for food shaped...


Wild Nights

by Benjamin Reiss Basic Books (March 06, 2017)

Why the modern world forgot how to sleep

Why is sleep frustrating for so many people? Why do we spend so much time and money managing and medicating it, and training ourselves and our children to do it correctly?...


The Interpretation Of Cultures

by Clifford Geertz & Robert Darnton Basic Books (August 14, 2017)

One of the twentieth century's most influential books, this classic work of anthropology offers a groundbreaking exploration of what culture is

With The Interpretation of Cultures, the distinguished anthropologist...